

2019 Annual Business Meeting Minutes Thursday, November 21, 2019 Shanty Creek Resort, Bellaire Michigan

Call to order

President Lee Cruppenink called the 91st annual business meeting to order at 12:15pm. Lee introduced himself to the conference attendees and welcomed them to the Business Meeting. Aimee Adamski distributed voting cards to institutions in attendance that had not picked them up.

Introduction of the Bellaire Youth Initiative

Amy Wisniewski Conference Planning Committee Chair introduced Dee Lynch from The Bellaire Youth Initiative. Dee gave an overview of the organization, who they help, and thanked the MACRAO members for their generous donations.

Approval of 2018 Annual Meeting Minutes

Kimberly Blair-Chambers, Secretary presented the 2018 Business Meeting Minutes from November 15, 2018. She reminded the conference attendees that the minutes and reports were posted to the MACRAO web site and were in the fall newsletter. A limited number of copies were available by request. Lee called for a motion to accept the 2018 Annual Business Meeting Minutes, Steve Shablin, Michigan State University made a motion to accept the minutes, and Stephanie Decatur, Lansing Community College seconded. There was no discussion and the motion passed.

Approval of 2098 Treasurer's Report

Laurie Huber, Treasurer presented the Treasurer's Report for 2019. Funds available as of October 31, 2019:

Checking Account Balance - \$73,868.86 Savings Account Balance \$125,751.21 Total Balance: \$199,620.07

Lee called for a motion to accept the 2019 Treasurer's Report. Dee Dee Stakley, Ferris State University made the motion to accept the Treasure's report, and Karen Arnold, U of M Flint seconded. There was no discussion and the motion passed.

Bylaw Changes

Lee Cruppenink briefly discussed the proposed bylaw changes that were presented to the membership for feedback on July 26th. A webinar for explanation of the proposed changes was offered on August 14th and a final draft of the proposed changes was sent to the membership on September 26th. A final reminder for the membership to review the changes was sent in the October newsletter. Lee called for a motion to accept the Bylaw changes. Cliff Dorne, Saginaw Valley State university made a motion to accept the Bylaw changes, and Keith Malkowski, Central Michigan University seconded. There was no discussion and the motion passed.

Recognition of Committee Members

Colleen Kibin, President-Elect asked all chairs, co-chairs and committee members to stand to be recognized. Colleen thanked them on behalf of the Board of Directors. She also reminded attendees that Committee Reports are on the MACRAO website. She also encouraged members to become involved in MACRAO by volunteering for committee membership.

Presentation of the Innovation in Transfer Award

Matt Zeig, Articulation Committee presented the award to Northwestern Michigan College Engineering 2+2 agreement with Michigan Technological University. Jerry Dobek accepted the award on behalf of Northwestern Michigan College.

Presentation of the Equity in Education Award

Kimberly Blair-Chambers, Board of Directors presented the award to Eastern Michigan University for their Gateways to Completion program. Dr. Michael Tew accepted the award on behalf of Eastern Michigan University.

Presentation of the Outstanding Professional Team

Nick Turinsky, Professional Development Committee presented the award to Grand Valley State University for their myName project. Jason Cronkite accepted the award on behalf of Grand Valley State University.

Invitation to the 2020 Conference

Kristin Heinrich, University of Michigan, 2020 CPC Chair invited all attendees to the 2020 Annual Conference that will be held at the Bavarian Inn, November 20-22. The theme for the conference is MACRAO looking into the future.

Election of Officers

Theresa Jacques, member of the Nomination Committee, recognized the members of the committee and thanked them for their dedication and service. Theresa presented the slate of nominees for the MACRAO Board of Directors and the 2020 Nomination Committee.

Recognition of Nomination Committee

- Theresa recognized the three most recent Past Presidents of MACRAO that served on the Nominations Committee: Wendy Davis previously of Central Michigan University, Nikole Ford-Kondraciuk Henry Ford College, and Libby Bonnell Grand Valley State University
- Theresa also recognized the additional members of the Nomination Committee Carrie Bearss, representing a two-year institution, Theresa Jacques, representing a four-year public institution and Ron Hultman, representing a four-year private institution.

Nomination for President Elect, and the 2020 Nomination Committee

Theresa presented Tom Kephart for the position of President Elect for 2020. Hearing no additional nominations from the floor, Theresa asked for a motion. Courtney Fylling, Saginaw Valley State University, made a motion to elect Tom Kephart as President Elect, and Diane Praet, University of Detroit Mercy seconded. There was no discussion and the motion passed.

Theresa presented the nominations for the 2020 Nomination Committee. The nominees from the members-at-large are:

- Valerie Butterfield, Grand Rapids Community College, representing a two-year college
- Keith Malkowski, Central Michigan University, representing a four-year public institution
- Carly Miller, Lawrence Technological University, representing a four-year private institution

Hearing no additional nominations from the floor, Theresa called for a motion to accept Valerie Butterfield, Keith Malkowski, and Carly Miller to the 2020 Nomination Committee. Urana Pridemore, University of Michigan Dearborn, made a motion to elect Valerie, Keith, and Carly to the 2020 Nomination Committee, and Terri Gould, Delta College seconded. There was no discussion and the motion passed.

Recognition of Treasurer

Lee recognized Laurie Huber as the past Treasurer of MACRAO.

Recognition of Web Editor

Lee recognized Kris Schuette as the past MACRAO Web Editor after 13 years of service to MACRAO.

Recognition of Newsletter Editor

Lee recognized Lora Phelps as the past MACRAO Newsletter Editor.

Recognition of Past President

Lee recognized Wendy Davis as the Past President of MACRAO. He thanked her for her dedication and leadership even after she left the Organization.

Recognition of Outgoing President

Colleen Kibin thanked Lee Cruppenink for his service as President.

Outgoing President's Remarks

Lee, President thanked the membership and Board of Directors for this opportunity and spoke about his journey of becoming involved with MACRAO and the presidency.

Lee passed the gavel to Colleen as the new MACRAO president.

New President Remarks

Colleen detailed her plan for her year as president of MACRAO. She has been working closely with Lee and the BOD and plans to continue to move MACRAO into the future. She also encouraged members to get involved.

Call for Adjournment

Colleen adjourned the meeting at 1:05pm