MACRAO 94th Annual Business Meeting

November 17, 2022

The meeting was called to order by President Amy Wisniewski at 12:21 p.m. Wisniewski explained the voting procedures for member institutions with one vote per institution. Wisniewski thanked everyone for coming.

Housekeeping and Announcements

Deedee Stakely thanked the Conference Planning Committee for their work on the annual conference. She highlighted upcoming events at the conference.

United Way Presentation

Stakely presented the United Way of Saginaw County with donated school supplies and monetary donations. The representative thanked the membership for their donations and discussed the impact for teachers and students.

Approval of minutes of the 2021 Annual Business Meeting

Brad Maki presented the minutes of the 2021 Annual Business Meeting. He called for a motion to approve the minutes. Emily Clement (Delta College) made a motion to approve the minutes. Lauren Penner (UM-Dearborn) seconded the motion. There was no discussion and the motion passed.

Approval of Treasurer's Financial Statement

Jonathan Kohns presented the Treasurer's Report for 2022. Kohns shared highlights from 2021 and accomplishments and goals for 2021 and 2022.

2021 highlights:

- \$169,268 total MACRAO assets
- \$155,968.48 in account balances
- \$13,300 in outstanding dues
- \$3,350 was eventually written off

2022 highlights:

- \$185,938.31 total MACRAO assets (as of 10/31/22)
- \$9,000 anticipated income for 2022
- Changed bookkeeping processes for affiliate members (This will greatly reduce the need to write off unpaid dues.)

Wiesnewski called for a motion to accept the 2022 Treasurer's Report. Kimberly Blair-Chambers (Michigan State University) made the motion to accept the Treasurer's Report; Kurt Kruschinska (Wayne State University) seconded the motion. There was no discussion and the motion passed.

Committee Reports

Valerie Butterfield recognized the 2022 MACRAO committees and encouraged the membership to join committees.

Presentation of the Innovation in Transfer Award

Amber Thomas, chair of the College Articulation Committee, made a presentation of the 2022 Innovation in Transfer Award to Kelley Holcomb of Washtenaw Community College.

Invitation to the 2023 Conference

Stakely invited the membership to the 2023 Annual Conference to be held at Shanty Creek Resort in Bellaire in November 2023.

Election of Officers and Recognition of the Nominations Committee

Colleen Kibin recognized the 2022 Nominations Committee. Kibin presented the nominations for the 2023 MACRAO Board of Directors and the 2023 Nominations Committee.

Nomination for Treasurer-Elect: Kibin presented Mary Wesolek, Siena Heights University, for the position of Treasurer for a three-year term ending in 2025. Hearing no additional nominations from the floor, Kibin called for a motion to elect Wesolek. Dan Vainner (Grand Valley State University) made a motion, and Kimberly Blair-Chambers (Michigan State University) seconded the motion. Kibin called for a vote and the motion passed.

Nomination for President-Elect: Kibin presented Lisa Emery, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor, for the position of President-Elect in 2023 and voting privileges on the Board of Directors for a term ending in 2025. Hearing no additional nominations from the floor, Kibin called for a motion to elect Emery. Patti Mousseau (University of Michigan-Ann Arbor) made a motion, and Mary Wesolek (Siena Heights University) seconded the motion. Kibin called for a vote and the motion passed.

Nominations Committee: Kibin presented the following individuals for membership on the Nominations Committee for a term ending in 2023:

- Carrie Bearss, St. Clair County Community College
- Joe Vainner, University of Michigan-Flint
- Elizabeth Flores, Aquinas College

Hearing no additional nominations from the floor, Kibin called for a motion to elect these individuals. Nic Taylor (Saginaw Valley State University) made a motion, and Theresa Jaques (Michigan Technological University) seconded the motion. Kibin called for a vote, and the motion passed with one objection.

Recognition of Outgoing Officers

Wisniewski recognized the outgoing officers of Theresa Jaques, Events Coordinator (Michigan Technological University), Amy Young, Membership Coordinator (Glen Oaks Community College), and Matt Zeig, Transfer Liaison for Statewide Initiatives (Macomb Community

College), Colleen Kibin, Past President (Eastern Michigan University), and Tom Kephart, Past President/Interim Communications Coordinator.

Recognition of Outgoing President

Butterfield recognized Amy Wisniewski, outgoing President for her service to MACRAO in 2022.

President-Elect Remarks

Butterfield shared thoughts about the organization's work in 2023.

Adjournment

Wisniewski called for a motion to adjourn. Kimberly Blair-Chambers (Michigan State University) made a motion to adjourn; Raymond Gant (Calvin University) seconded the motion. There was no discussion and the motion passed. The meeting adjourned at 12:59 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Brad Maki Secretary, MACRAO University of Michigan-Ann Arbor